My Political Quandary: How Do I Choose the Good?


american-politics party imagesLike many Americans, I find myself in a quandary, now that it appears that the two main presumptive Presidential candidates are Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton. I find myself wanting neither of the above.

I do not see Mr. Trump as an acceptable Presidential personality, I do not think he has sufficient political experience, and I do not trust that his positions will match most of my own. I do not find his bullying braggadocio attractive, and I do not want to listen to it for the next six months, let alone four (or eight) years after that.

I have disagreed with most of Mrs. Clinton’s positions for more than two decades, I do not think she is a trustworthy candidate, and I despised her husband’s peccadilloes in office and don’t want him anywhere near the White House again. Although she has a good political pedigree, she is as paranoid as Richard Nixon and about as charismatic.

I don’t typically write about religion in this blog, but I find myself reflecting on a bit from Thomas Merton this week:

“We find ourselves more and more backed into a corner in which there seems to be no choice but that of a ‘lesser evil’ . . . . But an evil choice can never have wholly good consequences. When one chooses to do good irrespective of the consequences, it is a paradox that the consequences will ultimately be good.”

Merton continues:

We must recover our inner faith not only in God but in the good . . . In the power of the good to take care of itself and us as well.”

From Conjectures of a Guily Bystander, part 2.

And so I have decided that my task over the next several months is to decide what the “good” is. I will not stoop to picking the lesser of the two evils.

I don’t know yet what the “good” will be for me.

Can I find one of these candidates acceptable? Will one of the two contenders rise above “lesser of two evil” status and make me think he or she will be a good President?

Will a third option become appealing? Who are the other candidates, and what do they have to offer?

Should I choose not to vote in this election? I can’t allow my dissatisfaction with the top of the ticket to harm other candidates for state and local races, but I can choose to leave the first spot on the ballot empty. That may be the “good” this year.

I have until November 8 to decide. Whatever I decide, however, I will remember that I do not need to choose the lesser evil. If I do, it will not have wholly good consequences.

When have you faced only unfortunate choices?

4 Comments

Filed under Philosophy, Politics

4 responses to “My Political Quandary: How Do I Choose the Good?

  1. You are not alone in your quandary.

  2. Well said. The Republicans need to unify with Trump to smooth his sharp edges before he blows up the party. Here’s my cartoonish take: https://confederacyofdrones.com/2016/05/13/learn-to-love-the-bomb/

  3. Pingback: The Best We Can Hope for Is Gridlock | Sara Rickover, Behind the Corporate Veil

Please leave a comment

