My 200th Post: A Retrospective, a Thank-You, and a Request


post-milestone-200-2xWordPress tells me this is my 200th post. I have been posting regularly (weekly or so) since November 2011. I’ve taken a couple of short breaks, but for the most part, every Monday there has been a new post, and sometimes another later in the week.

I am proud of the blog and how it has developed over the past three and one-half years. To give myself a pat on the back, I’m linking to some of my favorite posts. Please take a few minutes to review them. I hope you enjoy the posts, whether you are reading them again, or for the first time.

Humility and Leadership: Knowing Thyself

Systematic Neglect: Choose Your Priorities and Accept the Consequences

How Managers Can Impact Employee Retention

Making the Tough Calls: It’s What Leaders Do

Change the Organization’s Design To Get Different Results; But Be Careful . . . You Will Get What You Design

Situational Leadership Theory: It’s Just Common Sense

And, as we approach the middle of 2015, I’ll leave you with one more link:

Mid-Year Self-Assessment (It’s Not Just About Performance Objectives)

If you have not started a self-assessment of how your 2015 is going, I hope you will begin one now. As for me, I have certain things I am proud of this year, and certain regrets that projects are behind schedule. At this time, I am formalizing my commitment to weekly posts here.

I appreciate the interest readers have shown in this blog—each and every comment. I want the blog to address the everyday needs of corporate managers and leaders.

So my request is:

What would you like to see more of on this blog? Less of? I will try to accommodate your interests.

5 Comments

Filed under Leadership, Management, Philosophy, Workplace, Writing

5 responses to “My 200th Post: A Retrospective, a Thank-You, and a Request

  1. Sara,
    I see the corporate culture and the person behind it (usually the founder) as the most interesting and the most important force in developing an excellent organization. Therefore, I like those vague concepts like vision, strategy, leadership and focus. But I like all of your posts, so you get my encouragement to keep on keeping on.

    Here is a concrete question you might answer if you have space: The coaching staff of the K.U. Jayhawks recruits their players in a different way than the average corporation. Why doesn’t every organization recruit employees like management careers depended on it?

    Dane

    • Dane,
      Thanks for the comment. I don’t follow sports, so sports recruiting isn’t something I know much about. But your point that managers should recruit like their careers depend on it is a really good one. After all, we should hire people who will improve the organization, not people who will kowtow to us or who will merely replace our current way of thinking.
      I’ll give this one some thought.
      Sara

      • Sara,
        You’ve got the gist of recruiting for athletics. It involves begging, cajoling, researching, pandering to, and sometimes outright purchasing a player. I exaggerate this process, but hiring the right person has such long-term effects, that hiring shouldn’t just be on par with all of the other functions of HR.

        By the way, Sara, life imitates baseball. You’ll need to buy some tickets!

        Dane

  2. Hi Sara,
    I noticed that you’d written on the topic of mentors or mentorship before. I’d long been interested in not just the positive attributes but also negative attributes to look out for as well (because I’d run into some toxic people who’ve tried to foist themselves on me as mentors). If this is within your interests and expertise, I’d be interested a post on your thoughts about how to select mentors (i.e., guidelines) and potential behavioral/temperamental red flags.

    This is Lynn (changed my gravatar since I’d been trying my hand at blogging about politics). 😉

    ~Lynn

Please leave a comment

